BoardNews / Media Releases
Catholic Student Leadership Awards 2023

Tuesday, May 2, 2023 – BRANTFORD – Last evening, Trustees of the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board hosted the 2023 Catholic Student Leadership Awards event.

The Catholic Student Leadership Award honours the gifts of young people across the Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board. This prestigious award recognizes students who exemplify the Ontario Catholic School Graduate Expectations in their school or classroom setting.

Each award recipient is nominated by their teacher and school administrator. Award recipients are extremely talented individuals who demonstrate outstanding qualities in Catholic leadership, family commitment, involvement in school activities, and dedication to their faith communities. These award recipients are true role models who live out the Catholic Graduate Expectations every day.

The recipient of the 2023 Outstanding Contribution to Catholic Education was Mr. Dan Pace. Forever missed, never forgotten. Dan was the former Principal of Madonna Della Libera School, Brantford. It was an honour to have Dan’s family and friends present to accept his award.

Catholic Education Week affords us the perfect time to pay tribute to the student leaders in our schools and reflect on the importance of faith in our lives and the role it plays in Catholic education. Congratulations to all the 2023 Catholic Student Leadership Award recipients.

BHNCDSB 2023 Catholic Student Leaders

Orobosa Idusuyi – Assumption College School, Brantford
Megan Reeder – Blessed Sacrament, Burford
Isabel Marafioti – Christ the King, Brantford
Miroslava Jauregui Rodriguez – Holy Cross, Brantford
Sydney Carrera – Holy Family, Paris
Jyllanne Tumambing – Holy Trinity Catholic High School, Simcoe
Jackson De Almeida – Madonna Della Libera, Brantford
Tarah Burton – Notre Dame, Brantford
Luca Verigin – Notre Dame, Caledonia
Leila Case – Our Lady of Fatima, Courtland
Jake Hall – Our Lady of Providence, Brantford
Jocelyn Aguiar – Resurrection, Brantford
Mya Lauwerier – Sacred Heart, Langton
Lauren O’Nahr – Sacred Heart, Paris
Sophia Spagnuolo – St. Basil, Brantford
Alyssa Calvesbert – St. Bernard of Clairvaux, Waterford
Carmine Feruglio – St. Cecilia, Port Dover
Garrin Springham – St. Frances Cabrini, Delhi
William Bryce – St. Gabriel, Brantford
Jasmine Klunder – St. John’s College, Brantford
Elliott De Decker – St. Joseph’s, Simcoe
Emilia Punturiero – St. Leo, Brantford
Madison Craggs – St. Mary’s Catholic Learning Centre, Brantford
Abigail Montague – St. Mary’s, Hagersville
Levi Millett – St. Michael’s, Dunnville
Piper Jones – St. Michael’s, Walsh
John Moore – St. Patrick, Brantford
Elise Tusim – St. Patrick’s, Caledonia
Maria Moldon – St. Peter, Brantford
Ellie Marriott – St. Pius X, Brantford
Emma Hanson – St. Stephen’s, Cayuga
Carling Ruddell – St. Theresa, Brantford

Learn More

Related Posts

‘These Walls Can Sing’ Opens Today!

‘These Walls Can Sing’ Opens Today!

Brantford ON - “These Walls Can Sing” is a celebration of Canadian music that features 130 paintings created by BHNCDSB students ranging from Kindergarten to Grade 12. The interactive exhibit opens today at Lynnwood Arts in Simcoe. The concept is for student artists...

read more
Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week

Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week

Ontario has designated the week beginning on the third Sunday of November as Bullying Awareness and Prevention Week (November 19 – 26, 2023). This week is dedicated to promoting safer schools and positive learning environments. Parents and Caregivers are responsible...

read more